“The Winnowing Season” by Cindy Woodsmall

COVER_PHOTO_The Winnowing Season, Book 2Amish Vines and Orchards, Book 2

Take the characters from book one and set them down in the middle of no-where Maine and a new adventure begins. Not only do they have to contend with the stress of revitalizing this apple orchard, but people are not acting as they should be and no one is telling secrets. Plus they sometimes forget that they are new and Amish in an unfamiliar town.

For a full reader synopsis and review, click http://booksbysteph.com/Woodsmall__Cindy.html

Until next time, live life one page at a time!

SZ

MULTNOMAH

Books 1 and 2 from the Amish Vines and Orchards series by Cindy Woodsmall is my very first dive into the Amish genre. Book 1 was a gift from Novel Crossing for promoting the launch of their new website and the book sat on my shelves, to-be-read later. When I received the email to help promote book 2 of this series, the first thing I did, after placing an order to buy book 2, was to read book one. I fell in love. I read it in two sittings and the only reason it was not one sitting is because I had to sleep sometime.

There is an innocence in this series, which I presume is felt in all Amish books. Not innocent versus guilty, but innocent in serene and peaceful. While the books in this series contain drama, there was simplicity to it, just like the simple way of the Amish lifestyle.

I found myself forgetting I was reading a book about Amish and not a historical fiction. I had to keep reminding myself that these books are written in present day and things like lanterns and horses with rigs are Amish related.

I read so many books by Indie authors and my favorite genre is the tongue-in-cheek romance novels, it is nice to read about innocent courting instead of throbbing manhoods. In my life, I do not have a family. The way that the Amish families and the communities band together from simple chores to major disasters warms my heart, wishing I had family like that. To be funny, a part of me thought of picking up and joining an Amish community because of my longing to be a part of what they represent, to God and to each other.

While I am entering a contest to win books by Cindy Woodsmall, I have found a new author to love. If her other books are like the Amish Vines and Orchards series, I have many books to look forward to ready. I also have Amish books by Beverly Lewis, Wanda Brunstetter and Martha Bolton on by bookshelves to read and am quite looking forward to this new genre…well, new to me. Beth Wiseman is an Amish writer but I have read a non-Amish, yet still Christian based book of hers and called that a must read. Yet the book I am most looking forward is book 3 in the Amish Vines and Orchards series – available September 17, 2013.

(This discussion should answer the themes 1 and 2 listed in the April 18, 2013 email.)

Leave a Reply

